Just Push Play

The Soundtrack To My Life: VersaEmerge

Posted on: May 11, 2011

The song “Redesgin Me” by VersaEmerge is one of my favorites on their album Fixed at Zero. For a song to really mean something to me it has to have lyrics that I can relate to or it has to have something lyrically and musically that captures me. This song does all of that. Take a look at the lyrics here:

If you were still around,
You’d tell me I’m different, since the last time you called me out
I’d put you down, I’d tell you it’s a waste of time to keep you by my side.
If you were still around, I swear, we would sit and stare, we would be nowhere…

And to this day I look for what it’s going to take, to just let things be…
Still I wonder is it you or me who should feel guilty…
I’m pulling, I’m pushing, I’m putting it out of my mind.
…thought that I had said goodbye

If you were still around,
You’d tell me that you’re sorry, but you don’t know what you’re sorry about
I’d keep to myself, keep you guessing, make you question
If it’s ever going to work itself out.
If you were still around, I swear, we would sit and stare, we would be nowhere…

And to this day I look for what it’s going to take, to just let things be…
Still today I wonder is it you or me who should feel guilty…
I’m pulling, I’m pushing, I’m putting it out of my mind.
…thought that I had said goodbye

Yeah, it still haunts me… (x3)

And to this day I look for what it’s going to take, to just let things be…
And to this day I wonder is it you or me who should feel guilty…
I’m pulling, I’m pushing, I’m putting it out of my mind.
…thought that I had said goodbye

This song is obviously about some type of relationship. It can be interpreted as a romantic relationship or a friendship. Knowing a lot about this band I have come to discover that they don’t write songs about romantic relationships, something that not very many musicians do. So I am going to focus on the meaning that Sierra was trying to portray when writing this song. According to lead singer Sierra:

“I wrote about the friends I was growing apart from and a person I chose to leave behind. Life is too short to sit around. I feel a constant need to get out into the world. Moving on is hard, but it’s sometimes for the better.”

We all go through points in our lives where people change and friendships change. Especially as we grow older we realize who our true friends are. Usually as we grow in age our number of friends (and I mean friends who we can trust with our lives) gets smaller. Every friendship goes through its ups and downs and sometimes they just end. Even the friendships that you thought would last forever. It’s not that the person who you thought was your friend wasn’t in fact your friend. As you get older you change; sometimes for the better and sometimes not. Sometimes we change into people who are better off without each other.

To me this song says instead of trying to hold onto the past, move ahead into the future. Sierra was obviously talking about a really good friendship that she chose to leave behind. She believed it was for the best because life is too short. I couldn’t agree more. My favorite part of the song:

If you were still around,
You’d tell me that you’re sorry, but you don’t know what you’re sorry about
I’d keep to myself, keep you guessing, make you question
If it’s ever going to work itself out.
If you were still around, I swear, we would sit and stare, we would be nowhere…

To me this says that at this point in time if they were to sit there with each other they wouldn’t even know what to say. It’s just an endless cycle of “I’m sorrys” and no mutual understandings. So much has happened that if they sat in front of each other they would just “sit and stare”. Down the road who knows what will happen? But for now she chose to move on. What I’ve realized is exactly what Sierra said. Life is too short to sit around and moving on is hard, but it’s for the better. Sometimes in life it is ok to be completely selfish and do something for the betterment of yourself.

Take a listen to “Redesign Me”:

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Categories

Follow me on Twitter!

Archives

