Just Push Play

The Soundtrack To My Life: Ashton Shepherd

Posted on: April 6, 2011

So I’m back today with another post from my new “The Soundtrack To My Life” series. Originally I was going to make this a weekly thing, but when I hear a song where that “a ha!” moment occurs and I can’t help but get on here and write about it. Today’s topic of conversation comes from the song “Not Right Now” by Ashton Shepherd. Now this song was on Ashton’s first album that was released in 2008 and as soon as I heard it I related to it. Take a look at the lyrics before I continue:

I ain’t supposed to wanna do a lotta drinkin’
‘Least that’s what a lot of folks keep thinkin’
I ain’t supposed to stay out till all hours of the mornin’
I’m supposed to be a young lady

But I like my music loud and a real big crowd with a cooler close by
I like a pint’a crown and a country sound and stayin’ out all night
And I like dirt roads and river banks and something cold to drink
Yeah, some say that ain’t what my life’s about
And one day I’m gonna have to settle down
But not right now

No, I ain’t got to right now

So what if I like the bar and dancin’?
Well, what do you care if you don’t mind me askin’?
I like being a little wild and havin’ fun,
Now, don’t tell me you forgot about all the things you’ve done

But I like my music loud and a real big crowd with a cooler close by
I like a pint’a crown and a country sound and stayin’ out all night
And I like dirt roads and river banks and something cold to drink
Yeah, some say that ain’t what my life’s about
And one day I’m gonna have to settle down
But not right now (x2)

No, I ain’t got to right now
And y’all, I ain’t gonna settle down

     Right now in my life I can group my friends into three categories- the friends in relationships, the single friends, and the single friends who long to be in relationships. Lets start off with the friends in relationships. My motto is “If you’re happy I’m happy”. As long as the relationship is healthy and doesn’t interfere with the friendship I’m on board. Now for the single friends- though at times it seems a lot of my close friends are in serious relationships at the moment, I have an equal number of single friends. These are the friends who are always around to have a good time, to go to the bar, get wild, and have fun. Then there are the single friends who are out there looking for relationships.

     Although it seems that today people are getting married at and starting a family at an older age, I can’t seem to forget the number of times my Facebook news feed has been bombarded with “Exhibit A is now engaged to Exhibit B” or “Exhibit A is married to Exhibit B”. These aren’t people in their late 20s, almost 30s. These people are young! I’m not saying that no person at the age of twenty-four should be engaged or married, but it seems there’s a lifetime ahead of you and experiences to be experienced before jumping into a serious relationship or putting a ring on the finger. It works for some and not for others.

     “Not Right Now” talks about just living your life and having fun. Who needs Mr. Right when you have Mr. Right Now? At twenty-three, twenty-four years old you’re still young and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with “Mr. Right Now”. Just out of college, figuring out who you are, who you want to be. Sure, you’ll settle down one day, but that day doesn’t have to be right now. I’m not saying if the right guy (or girl) comes along to run in the other direction. All I’m saying is there are so many of us out there that are “relationship obsessed”. Take a step back and live your life. Figure out who you are before you make someone else a part of your life. If you make that person your life and it doesn’t work out in the end, what do you have? Ashton’s song says:

I ain’t supposed to wanna do a lotta drinkin’
‘Least that’s what a lot of folks keep thinkin’
I ain’t supposed to stay out till all hours of the mornin’
I’m supposed to be a young lady

Sure you are! Go out drink, dance, stay out all night with your friends! As Ashton says, “one day i’m gonna have to settle down, but not right now”. Life’s too short and the best things come to you when you least expect it. Ignore the pressures of friends, family members (especially the “Jewish mother guilt”), and live your life the way you want to live it. If that means conducting a search for your husband or wife (if it works for you, okay) great, but if you want to just go out and have your fun go for it! When the right person comes great! But until then date, date a lot, date different people. All the pieces of the puzzle will fall into place.

 

Take a listen to “Not Right Now” by Ashton Shepherd:

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Categories

Follow me on Twitter!

Archives

