Just Push Play

The Soundtrack To My Life: Adele

Posted on: April 6, 2011

   So I decided to try something new out. Every week (probably Sundays) I’m going to pick a different song (new or old), any song that describes my life at the moment. For the first of what I hope to be many posts of “The Soundtrack To My Life” is Adele’s “Hometown Glory”. This song is off of Adele’s first album, 19, and is so beautiful! The piano part in the beginning is gorgeous and continues throughout the whole song. Its simple, but complex at the same time and it really showcases Adele’s unique voice. 

     To me this song is about appreciating where you came from. I think Adele wrote this song in appreciation for her hometown, London, but there is a deeper meaning to it. It’s not really about a geographic location, but rather the people we meet in our lives, the ones we love, and the memories we make with them. All of our memories and experiences make us who we are. All of our friends and family members are our true home.

     At this point in my life my friends and I are about two years out of college. Its the time to enter the real world. Our lives are changing, friends move away, you lose friends, make some new friends, and basically say “What am I doing with myself?” We think that college is the time where we figure out what direction we want our lives to go in, but the reality is most people find themselves asking these questions when they leave college. Graduating college at a time when the job market is horrible (especially for teachers, which of course all of my friends and I are or will be soon) just puts more questions in your head. Should I make a career change? Should I move away?

     “Hometown Glory” is so relatable to all these things. Adele talks about all the people she’s met in her life. When she says “I ain’t lost, just wandering” I believe she’s wandering in her mind with all the thoughts of the past and remembering the good times she’s had with the people she loves. People are so diverse and so are the connections we make with people we meet. So no matter where life takes you, whether its a plane ride away from your family and friends or a few hour drive, you can feel at home anywhere by simply remembering all the connections you’ve made with people there. 

 

Listen to Hometown Glory below, followed by the lyrics to the song:

 

I’ve been walking in the same way as I did
And missing out the cracks in the pavement
And tutting my heel and strutting my feet
“Is there anything I can do for you dear? Is there anyone I could call?
No, and thank you, please madam, I ain’t lost, just wandering”

Round my hometown, memories are fresh
Round my hometown, ooh, the people I’ve met
Are the wonders of my world, are the wonders of my world
Are the wonders of this world, are the wonders and now

I like it in the city when the air is so thick and opaque
I love it to see everybody in short skirts, shorts and shades
I like it in the city when two worlds collide
You get the people and the government
Everybody taking different sides

Shows that we ain’t gonna stand shit
Shows that we are united
Shows that we ain’t gonna take it
Shows that we ain’t gonna stand shit
Shows that we are united

Round my hometown, memories are fresh
Round my hometown, ooh, the people I’ve met

Are the wonders of my world, are the wonders of my world
Are the wonders of this world, are the wonders of my world
Of my world, yeah, of my world, of my world, yeah

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

Categories

Follow me on Twitter!

Archives

